- Review & Giveaway - Cleaver & heart - The Miscalculations of Lightning Girl -

3:30 AM

THE_MISCALCULATIONS_OF_LIGHTNING_GIRL

9781524767570
Title: THE MISCALCULATIONS OF LIGHTNING GIRL
Author: Stacy McAnulty
Pub. Date: May 1, 2018
Publisher: Random House
Formats: Hardcover, eBook
Pages: 304
Find it: AmazonB&NiBooksTBDGoodreads

Middle school is the one problem Lucy Callahan can't solve in this middle-grade novel perfect for fans of The Fourteenth Goldfish, Rain Reign, and Counting by 7s.

Lucy Callahan was struck by lightning. She doesn't remember it, but it changed her life forever. The zap gave her genius-level math skills, and ever since, Lucy has been homeschooled. Now, at 12 years old, she's technically ready for college. She just has to pass 1 more test--middle school!

Lucy's grandma insists: Go to middle school for 1 year. Make 1 friend. Join 1 activity. And read 1 book (that's not a math textbook!). Lucy's not sure what a girl who does calculus homework for fun can possibly learn in 7th grade. She has everything she needs at home, where nobody can make fun of her rigid routines or her superpowered brain. The equation of Lucy's life has already been solved. Unless there's been a miscalculation?

A celebration of friendship, Stacy McAnulty's smart and thoughtful middle-grade debut reminds us all to get out of our comfort zones and embrace what makes us different.
"An engaging story, full of heart and hope. Readers of all ages will root for Lucy, aka Lightning Girl. No miscalculations here!"
--Kate Beasley, author of Gertie's Leap to Greatness

Review
   It's an electrifying book that's clever and sweet that brought smiles and a few tears for this moving story. It took me less than nine hours to read the whole book, I got sucked in and couldn't put it down. I enjoyed the realness. It doesn't feel like most MG books I've read. The Miscalculations of Lightning Girl is a strong character book, they play so well of each other. There are so many lessons within these pages.
  For me, I like the growth and chance of the characters.  My favorite character is Levi, I felt he changed the most and showed the most growth. Along with how math plays into this story. I was one of those odd people who enjoy math but it's not my strongest, so I like seeing this young female with the math skills I would love to have.
  This book also deals with mental health. In an MG book it can be hard but the author, Stacy McAnulty, does such an amazing job covering these topics, that it doesn't fell pushed on the reading or overdone. It's a main part of the story without taking anything away from the book its self.


Stacy
Stacy McAnulty is a children’s book author, who used to be a mechanical engineer, who’s also qualified to be a paleontologist (NOT REALLY), a correspondent for The Daily Show (why not), and a Green Bay Packer coach (totally!). She is the 2017 Ezra Jack Keats New Writer Honor Recipient for Excellent Ed, illustrated by Julia Sarcone-Roach. Her other picture books include Earth! My First 4.54 Billion Years, illustrated by David Litchfield; Max Explains Everything: Grocery Store Expert, illustrated by Deborah Hocking, Brave and Beautiful, both illustrated by Joanne Lew-Vriethoff; Mr. Fuzzbuster Knows He’s the Favorite, illustrated by Edward Hemingway; and 101 Reasons Why I’m Not Taking a Bath, illustrated by Joy Ang. She’s also authored the chapter book series Goldie Blox, based on the award-winning toys, and The Dino Files.

Her debut middle grade novel, The Miscalculations of Lightning Girl, will publish in May 2018. When not writing, Stacy likes to listen to NPR, bake triple-chocolate cupcakes, and eat triple-chocolate cupcakes. Originally from upstate NY, she now lives in Kernersville, NC with her 3 kids, 3 dogs, and 1 husband.

Giveaway
3 winners will receive a finished copy of THE MISCALCULATIONS OF LIGHTNING GIRL, US Only.


http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/e2389ba2734/

Tour Schedule
Week One
4/23/2018- Beagles and BooksInterview
4/24/2018- Mrs. Knott's Book NookReview
4/25/2018- A Dream Within A DreamExcerpt
4/26/2018- Here's to Happy EndingsReview
4/27/2018- She Dreams in FictionExcerpt

Week Two
4/30/2018- 100 Pages A Day- Review
5/1/2018- Wonder StruckReview
5/2/2018- NerdophilesReview
5/3/2018- The UndergroundGuest Post
5/4/2018- Feed Your Fiction AddictionReview




You Might Also Like

0 comments

I Review for...

Professional Reader

Reviews Published50 Book Reviews