Poetry - LGBTQ - Review - Take Me With You by Andrea Gibson

11:00 AM

1_Book_Review


Take Me With You by Andrea Gibson is a wonderfully written poetry. It is also a collection of LGBTQ. This is this first for me, I've never read LGBTQ inspired poetry book before. With lines like" You keep worrying you're taking up too much space I wish you'd let yourself be the Milkyway" and "I told myself I was built like a song..." are powerful lines woven into these pages. There's a balance of upbeat poems to deeper more meaningful words. This book shows today's world in these lines of poems that reflect in a truthful way that explores significant themes to today's' world from love to politics to gender, family, and feelings. Take Me With You also has drawings, I also enjoyed the font and layout of the book. This is a must-read for anyone who enjoys poetry.


35260128
For readers of Rupi Kaur (Milk and Honey) and Atticus (Love Her Wild), a book small enough to carry with you, with messages big enough to stay with you, from one of the most quotable and influential poets of our time.

Andrea Gibson explores themes of love, gender, politics, sexuality, family, and forgiveness with stunning imagery and a fierce willingness to delve into the exploration of what it means to heal and to be different in this strange age. Take Me With You, illustrated throughout with evocative line drawings by Sarah J. Coleman, is small enough to fit in your bag, with messages that are big enough to wake even the sleepiest heart. Divided into three sections (love, the world, and becoming) of one liners, couplets, greatest hits phrases, and longer form poems, it has something for everyone, and will be placed in stockings, lockers, and the hands of anyone who could use its wisdom.











You Might Also Like

0 comments

I Review for...

Professional Reader

Reviews Published50 Book Reviews