Monday, August 3, 2015

Ten Fairytale Retellings I've Read & Want To Read

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created here at The Broke and the Bookish.
Each week we will post a new Top Ten list that one of our bloggers here at The Broke and the Bookish will answer. Everyone is welcome to join. All we ask is that you link back to The Broke and the Bookish on your own Top Ten Tuesday post AND add your name to the Linky widget so that everyone can check out other bloggers lists! If you don't have a blog, just post your answers as a comment. Have fun with it! It's a fun way to get to know your fellow bloggers.


August 4: Ten Fairytale Retellings I've Read & Want To Read

Five I want to read!

Spelled by

Yeah, no thanks. Dorthea is completely princed out. Sure being the crown princess of Emerald has its perks—like Glenda Original ball gowns and Hans Christian Louboutin heels. But a forced marriage to the brooding prince Kato is so not what Dorthea had in mind for her enchanted future.

Talk about unhappily ever after.

Trying to fix her prince problem by wishing on a (cursed) star royally backfires, leaving the kingdom in chaos and her parents stuck in some place called "Kansas." Now it's up to Dorthea and her pixed off prince to find the mysterious Wizard of Oz and undo the curse...before it releases the wickedest witch of all and spells The End for the world of Story.


My thoughts: I love the idea of this story. Wishing on a cursed start, who would of ever of thought!


The Isle of the Lost (The Descendants #1) by

Twenty years ago, all the evil villains were banished from the kingdom of Auradon and made to live in virtual imprisonment on the Isle of the Lost. The island is surrounded by a magical force field that keeps the villains and their descendants safely locked up and away from the mainland. Life on the island is dark and dreary. It is a dirty, decrepit place that's been left to rot and forgotten by the world.


 My Thoughts: Yes, I first hear of this from the Disney Channel while watching Girl Meets World but after looking into it more. I really want to dive into this book!




A Court of Thorns and Roses (A Court of Thorns and Roses #1) by

 When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she's been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!


My Thoughts: I've been hear more and more about this book, so I can't wait to see what I think of it! 


 Stitching Snow by

 Princess Snow is missing.

Her home planet is filled with violence and corruption at the hands of King Matthias and his wife as they attempt to punish her captors. The king will stop at nothing to get his beloved daughter back—but that’s assuming she wants to return at all.

Essie has grown used to being cold. Temperatures on the planet Thanda are always sub-zero, and she fills her days with coding and repairs for the seven loyal drones that run the local mines.

When a mysterious young man named Dane crash-lands near her home, Essie agrees to help the pilot repair his ship. But soon she realizes that Dane’s arrival was far from accidental, and she’s pulled into the heart of a war she’s risked everything to avoid. With the galaxy’s future—and her own—in jeopardy, Essie must choose who to trust in a fiery fight for survival.


My Thoughts: So, I read about this one from a blog a few weeks ago, nd' been thinking of it still. I really need to get this book.


Alice in Zombieland (White Rabbit Chronicles #1) by Gena Showalter
She won't rest until she's sent every walking corpse back to its grave. Forever.

Had anyone told Alice Bell that her entire life would change course between one heartbeat and the next, she would have laughed. But that's all it takes. One heartbeat. A blink, a breath, a second, and everything she knew and loved was gone.

Her father was right. The monsters are real.

To avenge her family, Ali must learn to fight the undead. To survive, she must learn to trust the baddest of the bad boys, Cole Holland. But Cole has secrets of his own, and if Ali isn't careful, those secrets might just prove to be more dangerous than the zombies.

My Thoughts: I heard of this book off one of my favorite blogs and new I wanted to learn more about it. I'm not usually a zombie fan but this one seems like a good read.


Heartless by

Teaser summary: A prequel to “Alice in Wonderland,” HEARTLESS will tell the tale of how a marquis’s teenage daughter became the infamous Queen of Hearts. It will be a story of whimsy and madness, passion and tragedy, ravens and writing desks. 

My Thoughts: Can it be out already! I mean come on, I feel in love with this already and I just only know that little bit from the Teaser Summer form Marissa Meyer's blog.


 Two I Half Read!


Beastly (Beastly #1) by
I am a beast.

A beast. Not quite wolf or bear, gorilla or dog but a horrible new creature who walks upright—a creature with fangs and claws and hair springing from every pore. I am a monster.

You think I'm talking fairy tales? No way. The place is New York City. The time is now. It's no deformity, no disease. And I'll stay this way forever—ruined—unless I can break the spell.

Yes, the spell, the one the witch in my English class cast on me. Why did she turn me into a beast who hides by day and prowls by night? I'll tell you. I'll tell you how I used to be Kyle Kingsbury, the guy you wished you were, with money, perfect looks, and the perfect life. And then, I'll tell you how I became perfectly . . . beastly.


My Thoughts: I started reading this a few years ago and for some reason that I can't remember I know I didn't finishes it. I liked it but don't think I loved it.  



Cruel Beauty (Cruel Beauty Universe) by Rosamund Hodge

Based on the classic fairy tale Beauty and the Beast, Cruel Beauty is a dazzling love story about our deepest desires and their power to change our destiny.

Since birth, Nyx has been betrothed to the evil ruler of her kingdom-all because of a foolish bargain struck by her father. And since birth, she has been in training to kill him.

With no choice but to fulfill her duty, Nyx resents her family for never trying to save her and hates herself for wanting to escape her fate. Still, on her seventeenth birthday, Nyx abandons everything she's ever known to marry the all-powerful, immortal Ignifex. Her plan? Seduce him, destroy his enchanted castle, and break the nine-hundred-year-old curse he put on her people.

But Ignifex is not at all what Nyx expected. The strangely charming lord beguiles her, and his castle—a shifting maze of magical rooms—enthralls her.

As Nyx searches for a way to free her homeland by uncovering Ignifex's secrets, she finds herself unwillingly drawn to him. Even if she could bring herself to love her sworn enemy, how can she refuse her duty to kill him? With time running out, Nyx must decide what is more important: the future of her kingdom, or the man she was never supposed to love.


My Thoughts: I only made it a few chapters in before I started reading other books. I liked it and wanted to read it and will be finishing it, there was just others books I want to read more.
 
 Read!
 



 The Lunar Chronicles by






16 comments:

  1. This was such a fun post idea this week. I love retellings and you picked some good ones. Please drop by my blog and sign up for my give-away.

    My TTT Retellings

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thank you for stopping by! There's was was way to many I wanted to add to the weeks list! Happy summer reading!

      Delete
  2. ACOTAR was really good (of course) and I also enjoyed Cruel Beauty. It was quite dark and weird (like many of the original fairy tales) and I really liked that about it. I should pick up Hodges' second retelling novel soon- too many books to read and not enough time!
    Great List!
    Mallory @ The Local Muse

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I know! So, so many books! I am liking darker books more and more as I read them! Haha Thank you for stopping by and Happy Summer Reading!

      Delete
  3. I really want to read ACOTAR and Isle of the Lost. I totally agree with the Lunar Chronicles!

    My TTT (Fairy Tale Retellings)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I really, really want to read those too! Thanks for stopping by & Happy Summer Reading!

      Delete
  4. So many I want to read here - especially ACOTAR and Spelled. Great list!

    Check out my TTT.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. ACOTAR and Spelled do sounds like an amazing read! Thanks for stopping by & Happy Summer Reading!

      Delete
  5. I keep up on seeing ACOTAR and the Lunar Chronicles on everyone's lists (lol) which greatly reminds me that I need to read ACOTAR soon.. Great list! :)

    czai @ the Blacksheep Project

    ReplyDelete
  6. Oh you have so many fantastic sounding novels on this list. I completely forgot about "A Court of Thorns & Roses" when I was making my post! I'm a little bit on the fence about "The Isle Of The Lost" by Melissa De La Cruz for the sheer fact that I didn't like her writing in "Blue Bloods" but I know some people absolutely adore her. Also, "Spelled" is one that I've never heard of but it sounds awesome. As for "The Lunar Chronicles"... I've only read "Cinder" but own "Scarlet" and can't wait to get around to reading it. Thanks for the awesome recs this week! I'm definitely adding most of these to my wishlist.

    Beks @ Novel Dreams

    ReplyDelete
  7. I adore fairy tale retellilngs, and you have a GREAT collection! The one I want to read the most is the one everyone seems to be talking about -- "A Court of Thorns and Roses". But I also like the others on your list.

    I own "Cinder" and "Scarlet", and have yet to read them. I also own "Cruel Beauty". Gotta get going o these!

    The only book that's completely new to me is "The Isle of the Lost". Looks interesting, though!

    Thanks so much for sharing, and for commenting on my own Top Ten post!! Happy Tuesday!! : )

    ReplyDelete
  8. I've been really wanting to read the Lunar Chronicles. I had never heard of Stitching Snow before today, but it sure sounds good! And Alice in Zombieland is looking more appealing the more lists I see it on. LOL Great list!

    ReplyDelete
  9. I didn't realize The Lunar Chronicles had five installments! I was only aware of Cinder and The Little Android. I'm excited to read the first book in the story.

    ReplyDelete
  10. I love Sarah J. Maas so A Court of Thorns and Roses is super high on my TBR. I'm a bit nervous I won't love it as much as her ToG series though! I've heard Cruel Beauty is fantastic.. it's on my TBR! :)
    Thanks for stopping by!

    ReplyDelete
  11. True story: I found out about The Descendants also while watching Girl Meets World. Great minds think alike, no? ;) I definitely enjoyed The Lunar Chronicles and ACOTAR as well! Fabulous list!
    Shannon @ It Starts At Midnight

    ReplyDelete

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
“Never trust anyone who has not brought a book with them.” —Lemony Snicket